Inducted:  August 15, 1987 in South Bend, IN

Date of Birth:  July 26, 1921 in South Bend

High School Attended:  South Bend Central Catholic       Graduated:  1939

College Attended:  University of Notre Dame  two years

Enlisted in 1942 in 82nd Infantry Division, Camp Claiborne, LA; transferred to 101st Airborne at Camp Claiborne & Fort Bragg, North Carolina; with rank of sergeat, participated in D-Day Normandy Invasion June 6, 1944; was wounded, captured, and a prisoner of war 4 days; received Bronze Star, Purple Heart, Good Conduct Medal, Invasion Arrowhead, Glider Badge, and Presidential Unit Citation with Cluster; honorably discharged in 1945.
Journalism Career:  Sportswriter for South Bend News-Times 1937-1938, and South Bend Tribune 1939-1983; retired in 1983 after 42 years of journalism service.

Special Recognition:  Received Sam Wegner Memorial Award 1978, Lions Club Award 1981, 1982; Russ Oliver Award 1983; Indiana Football Coaches Association Award 1983, George A. Cooper Foundation Award 1986, and Knights of Columbus Award 1966, 1984, and 1985; received South Bend School Corporation Department of Athletics Award 1983 and earned South Bend Press Club Founder Award 1966; charter member of St. Joseph Chapter of Indiana Football Hall of Fame; received Melvin Jones Fellowship Award 1994; inducted into Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Hall of Fame 1998.