Inducted:  March 6, 2005 in Indianapolis, IN

Date of Birth:  June 12, 1954 in Indianapolis

High School Attended:  Bishop Chatard      Graduated:  1972

High School Honors:  Earned 3 football letters at quarterback; in 1971, team was undefeated; named All-City for 3 years; selected All-State 1971; received Indianapolis City Athlete of the Year Award 1971; played in North-South All-Star Game 1972; career passing yards of 4,257 and 48 TD’s; won Chatard’s Rev. James P. Higgins Award as school’s best scholar-athlete.

College Attended:  Butler University         Graduated:  1977

College Honors:  Earned 4 varsity letters in football; selected as captain 1976; selected All-Conference 1974, 1975, 1976; selected as Most Valuable Player in Conference 3 times; earned Little America honors 3 times; set 15 conference and school passing records; in 1975, lead the nation in passing with a record of 110-177 for .621 percentage.

Coaching Experience:  Butler offensive coordinator 1977-1983; Northern Illinois University offensive coordinator 1984; Butler head coach 1985-1989 with record of 36-12-3; Ball State University quarterback coach and offensive coordinator 1990-1992; Indiana University quarterback coach 1993-1994; Ball State head coach 1995-2002 with record of 37-53; head coach at DePauw University 2004 with 9-2 record; assistant coach at IU 2005-2006; interim IU head coach 2007; upon the death of Coach Terry Hoeppner, was head coach 2008-2010.

Coaching Honors:  Butler teams won 4 Conference Championships and 4 NCAA Division II top 20 finishes; Co-Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Coach of Year 2004; Ball State teams were MAC Champions and went to Las Vegas Bowl in 1996, and in 2002 were MAC West Division Champions; IU team played in Insight Bowl in 2007. 

Special Recognition:  Inducted into Butler Hall of Fame 2000; named Honorary Coach for BSU's Spring Game 2011.

Family:  Wife, Linda; daughter, Kelly; sons, Billy (wide receiver coach at IU), Joe (on coaching staff at BSU), and Kevin (on coaching staff at U of Indianapolis)